Montage Deer Valley

Deer Valley Hotel Staff Pick: Crème de la crème
Montage Deer Valley #7 of 59 hotels in Park City #7 of 59 hotels in Park City
Star ratings explained
9100 Marsac Avenue Park City, UT 84060

Why we like it

  • The best in class for ski-in/ski-out mountain luxury
  • Estate quality furnishings, include marble bathrooms and commissioned artwork
  • The spa is sensational, with 35,000 sq ft of peace and pampering
  • Enjoy the live acoustic music at the Vista lounge
  • Poolside Montage Margarita and Pita French Fries are to die for
  • Daly's Pub & Rec offers delicious food, drinks, bowling, and games
  • The outdoor Alpine pool offers beautiful mountain views
  • Despite the unmatched luxury, this is a family-friendly property
  • Full-service, but offers a feeling of tranquil isolation
  • Paintbox, an exclusive and exceptional children's club, with year-round indoor and outdoor activities that will keep the kids more than entertained

What you need to know

  • Kids love the nightly homemade s'mores made by the fire
  • Multiple dining options on-site, from fresh sushi to wood-fired pizzas, all excellent
  • Direct hiking & biking access to the best trails in Park City in the summer
  • On-demand shuttle service to and from town
  • Pet-friendly, $100 pet fee, per dog, per stay. 45 lbs. weight restriction
  • On-site fitness center, including a variety of classes
  • $30 daily overnight valet parking fee, no self-serve parking
  • $40 daily resort fee

Popular Park City Features

Ski-in / Ski-out Walk to Lifts Walk to Main Street Swimming Pool Hot Tub Guest Shuttle Free WiFi Fitness Center

Location

Nestled into the secluded slopes of Deer Valley Resort, the Montage Deer Valley offers picturesque views and easy ski-in/ski-out access and only a few miles from Historic Main Street.

  • Distance to skiing: ski-in/ski-out, Deer Valley Resort
  • Distance to Main Street: 3.9 miles
  • Distance to city shuttle: on-site

Property Amenities

Activities

  • Fitness facilities
  • Ski-in/ski-out access
  • Indoor/outdoor pool(s)
  • Arcade/game room
  • Sauna
  • Spa services on site
  • Steam room
  • Pool table
  • Children's pool
  • Common area hot tub
  • Spa tub
  • Guided hiking and biking
  • Yoga classes
  • Changing facilities
  • Indoor pool
  • Locker rooms
  • Outdoor pool
  • Ping-pong table
  • Pool

Food and drink

  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • Après-ski
  • Wedding services
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet (winter only)
  • Restaurant
  • Health club

Property services

  • Ski storage
  • ATM
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Porter/bellhop
  • Concierge services
  • Cribs available (fees may apply)
  • Currency exchange
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Air-conditioned public areas
  • Luggage storage
  • Video library
  • Elevator/lift
  • Smoke-free property
  • Supervised childcare/activities (surcharge)
  • Children allowed
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms available
  • Doorman
  • Multilingual staff
  • On-site ski rentals
  • Pets allowed
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk
  • Security guard
  • Wake-up service
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Non-smoking rooms available

Shuttles and transportation

  • Airport transportation
  • Free area shuttle
  • On city bus route

Business services

  • Business center
  • Banquet facilities
  • Ballroom(s)
  • Conference center
  • Audiovisual services available
  • Fax services available
  • Mail and shipping services
  • Notary public

Parking

  • Free valet parking

In-Room Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony
  • In-room safe
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Desk
  • In-room sprinkler system
  • In-room climate (air conditioning)
  • Rooms with fireplace available
  • Smoke alarms in rooms
  • Washer and dryer (select rooms)

Bathroom

  • Bathrobes
  • Lighted makeup/shaving mirror
  • Free toiletries
  • Hair dryer
  • Designer toiletries
  • Separate bath and shower

Media and electronics

  • Cable TV service
  • CD Player
  • Free WiFi
  • DVD player
  • Flat-panel TV
  • Data ports
  • Free wired high-speed Internet
  • Internet access (complimentary)
  • Multi-line telephone
  • Pay movies
  • Television
  • Voicemail
  • iPod docking station

Services

  • Daily housekeeping
  • Free newspaper

Bedding and linens

  • Egyptian-cotton sheets
  • Rollaway/extra beds available

Food and drink

  • Full kitchens available
  • Minibar

Reviews

Montage Deer Valley

1,051 Reviews #7 of 59 hotels in Park City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
    829
  • Very Good
    123
  • Average
    57
  • Poor
    31
  • Terrible
    11
  • GreenLeader Platinum level
  • 2019 Certificate of Excellence

Recent Reviews

lauriesM2189BC wrote a review on March 05, 2020 Boca Raton, Florida
Trip Type: Couples

Loved every second

It was our first time staying at the Montage. I have always wanted to stay there. From the moment we pulled up, to the moment we left, the experience couldn’t have been better. From the phenomenal attentive staff, to the beautiful room, wonderful amenities including super enjoyable live music, we were in heaven. The ski valet was also exceptional, above and beyond. Special shout out to Claire who was our charming server at breakfast every morning. The food was delicious in every venue and the drinks were beyond. It’s a real privilege to stay at the Montage. I hope I get to again someday. You certainly get what you pay for!

MontageDeerValley, Resort Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your generous review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Montage Deer Valley. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. It was sincerely our pleasure to have you and provide you with genuine hospitality. Your kind words regarding our team, property and dining experiences are most appreciated and have been generously shared. We hope to welcome you back for another mountain getaway. Warm regards, Afsi Bird | Resort Manager Montage Deer Valley

MatthewP9641 wrote a review on March 05, 2020 Caribbean
Trip Type:

CHECK YOUR INVOICE – DODGY DEALINGS

We recently came back from an 8-day stay at Montage Deer Valley and liked the property which is large and spacious with great facilities. The food is excellent, the shuttles work well to Park City. There is a bit of a funny vibe sometimes throughout, a little off. It is difficult to put your finger on, everything is always “perfect” but then if you want anything slightly out of the normal you receive a slightly robotic response. Underlying the luxury and the attentive service it can seem a little fake. Our real negative experience came when we checked the invoice upon Check Out and discovered that ‘someone’ has added excessive tips (over 100%) on several days from the buffet breakfast. This additional US$ 120 on a US$ 100 invoice for breakfast was removed but without any apology or acceptance of fault. It was according to the General Manager, an ‘honest’ mistake by someone. I subsequently reviewed the physical copy and saw that someone had faked my signature when writing in a tip of over 100% for the breakfast buffet. When I communicated this along with copies of the invoice to the General Manager, he was upset that I was accusing one of his staff of committing fraud. Unfortunately, I don’t know what else to call it when someone impersonates my signature and adds a US$ 120 tip to a buffet breakfast bill of US$ 100. This happened multiple times and I am eagerly awaiting an explanation of how someone could accidentally do this?

MontageDeerValley, General Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to discuss your concerns with me while you were on property. Please know that we take guest feedback we receive very seriously. We have internally investigated this and did not find any evidence to support your claims. Warm regards, Joseph Mattioli | General Manager Montage Deer Valley

Melanie_In_Chicago wrote a review on March 03, 2020 Chicago
Trip Type:

Excellent family-friendly upscale resort

We never return to the same destination twice (life is too short!) but Montage Deer Valley is one we will come back to for sure! The property is lovely and well situated. Rooms were contemporary with nice amenities. Service was outstanding and all staff incredibly friendly. Had a minor maintenance issue in our room and it was fixed immediately. Loved the welcome milk & cookies and stuffed animals for the kids, the kid slippers and robes, s'mores on the patio every afternoon... Great pools, reliable and efficient shuttles...And dog friendly too! Excellent ski in/ski out location. Looking forward to our next visit. Well done, Montage!

MontageDeerValley, Resort Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to share your generous review. We are delighted to learn you and your family enjoyed your stay at Montage Deer Valley. As providing extraordinary service is our priority, your kind words regarding our team are most appreciated. It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back again. Warm regards, Afsi Bird | Resort Manager Montage Deer Valley

houghinspired wrote a review on March 01, 2020 Houston, Texas
Trip Type: Business

Expect to have your breath taken away!

When you arrive at the Montage Deer Valley expect the impact to take your breath away. I’m not just talking about the altitude...this place is absolutely stunning as it sits atop the mountain with views that are absolutely amazing. Loved the daily s’mores and abundance of warm fireplaces throughout the property and in room! Great job delivering on high expectations!

MontageDeerValley, Resort Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to share your generous review. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our property and our intimate mountain atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Afsi Bird | Resort Manager Montage Deer Valley

chungl99 wrote a review on February 28, 2020 Ormond Beach, Florida
Trip Type:
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Service

Second visit - still great

Second year in a row staying at this hotel (please see my review from last year). This year we rented a 3 bedroom residence (room 863) for 6 nights in the middle of February. We had a great visit and only experienced minor hiccups. The first issue happened 1 week before my arrival when I discovered that my reservation consisted of a suite with 2 adjoining rooms instead of a 3 bedroom "residence". Fortunately Brett W. was able to take care of that situation without any extra charges. Thank you Brett! We also had mechanical issues with our washer/dryer, one fireplace, and a toilet - all which were immediately repaired. As usual, the valet/shuttle guys were excellent. Front desk was friendly and gave my children their pick of stuffed animals. Housekeeping was great with prompt turn down service every evening. My wife and I enjoyed a nice dinner at Apex as well as the daily breakfast buffet that came with our reservation. Our kids loved the breakfast as well and spent many evenings with our extended family down at Daly's pub. We were pleasantly surprised with the tasty food at Daly's. My wife and I also enjoyed drinks at Burgers and Bourbon. Victor took great care of us there! Glancing over the recent reviews of Montage, I'm surprised at some of the negative remarks. I thought the hotel was very clean, even outside where we enjoyed s'mores every afternoon. There are also some negative comments regarding the service. Maybe it has to do with the price point of this property. If you plan to stay here, you will pay a premium because it's a beautiful hotel with ski-in/ski-out capability. You can rent your skis or store your equipment downstairs at Compass sports. Your ski boots will be maintained on a heater over night, and the friendly staff will help you put your boots on as well as take them off. A lot of the staff at this hotel are students from South America who are working in Salt Lake during their "summer break" from December to March. So perhaps the quality service that comes with a consistent staff is compromised due to the constant turnover of students. But I didn't mind. I found the South Americans very friendly and engaging. The rest of the staff were great especially the manager(?) Robert. The Montage is also located more on the periphery of the Deer Valley resort. The immediately accessible lifts are Ruby, Empire, and Lady Morgan. Empire and Lady Morgan will take you to some more expert terrain, but easy runs can be found. If you have kids in ski school, you'll either take them down to the school (at Snow Park) on the hotel shuttle or I believe they can go by themselves from the Compass sports area. Ski school starts around 10 a.m., so if you feel adventurous you can even ski with your kid down to the school. Skiing down to Snow Park involves taking the Ruby lift to the Ontario run, then down to Silver Lake Lodge. From there, you can down-load to Snow Park on the Silver Lake Express lift or take the Homestake lift up and ski down. As you can see, it's a process and takes about 40 minutes if you are beginner skiers. If you want to be closer to ski school, you might consider staying at Stein Eriksen, which is located close to Silver Lake lift, or St. Regis which is located at the Deer Valley base (Snow Park). I only mention those two hotels because they are similar in price point/class to Montage. Overall, I highly recommend the Montage, and it is still my go to hotel if I return to Deer Valley. The service is good although it may not be up to Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton standards. Again, you are primarily paying for ski-in/out privileges in a high quality hotel setting. This is also the place to bring your kids. I had a group of friends stay in a VRBO and they ended up bringing their kids to the Montage several times to enjoy the tubing and s'mores. as well as the bowling alley, and video games down at Daly's pub.

MontageDeerValley, Resort Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to share your generous review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to learn you and your family enjoyed your stay at Montage Deer Valley for the second year in a row. Your kind words regarding the service you experienced, our property, our ski-in / ski-out access and dining options available are most appreciated and have been generously shared our team. It will be a pleasure to welcome you all back again for another family getaway. Warm regards, Afsi Bird | Resort Manager Montage Deer Valley

Policies

Deposit

50% of total room and tax is due at the time of booking. Remainder of full payment due 90 days prior to arrival.

Cancellation

50% deposit is non-refundable. If cancelled within 90 days of arrival, total stay is non-refundable.