Montage Deer Valley

Deer Valley Hotel Staff Pick: Crème de la crème
Star ratings explained
9100 Marsac Avenue Park City, UT 84060

Why we like it

  • The best in class for ski-in/ski-out mountain luxury
  • Estate quality furnishings, include marble bathrooms and commissioned artwork
  • The spa is sensational, with 35,000 sq ft of peace and pampering
  • Enjoy the live acoustic music at the Vista lounge
  • Poolside Montage Margarita and Pita French Fries are to die for
  • Daly's Pub & Rec offers delicious food, drinks, bowling, and games
  • The outdoor Alpine pool offers beautiful mountain views
  • Despite the unmatched luxury, this is a family-friendly property
  • Full-service, but offers a feeling of tranquil isolation
  • Paintbox, an exclusive and exceptional children's club, with year-round indoor and outdoor activities that will keep the kids more than entertained

What you need to know

  • Kids love the nightly homemade s'mores made by the fire
  • Multiple dining options on-site, from fresh sushi to wood-fired pizzas, all excellent
  • Direct hiking & biking access to the best trails in Park City in the summer
  • On-demand shuttle service to and from town
  • Pet-friendly, $100 pet fee, per dog, per stay. 45 lbs. weight restriction
  • On-site fitness center, including a variety of classes
  • $30 daily overnight valet parking fee, no self-serve parking
  • $40 daily resort fee

Popular Park City Features

Ski-in / Ski-out Walk to Lifts Walk to Main Street Swimming Pool Hot Tub Guest Shuttle Free WiFi Fitness Center


Nestled into the secluded slopes of Deer Valley Resort, the Montage Deer Valley offers picturesque views and easy ski-in/ski-out access and only a few miles from Historic Main Street.

  • Distance to skiing: ski-in/ski-out, Deer Valley Resort
  • Distance to Main Street: 3.9 miles
  • Distance to city shuttle: on-site

Property Amenities


  • Fitness facilities
  • Ski-in/ski-out access
  • Indoor/outdoor pool(s)
  • Arcade/game room
  • Sauna
  • Spa services on site
  • Steam room
  • Pool table
  • Children's pool
  • Common area hot tub
  • Spa tub
  • Guided hiking and biking
  • Yoga classes
  • Changing facilities
  • Indoor pool
  • Locker rooms
  • Outdoor pool
  • Ping-pong table
  • Pool

Food and drink

  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • Après-ski
  • Wedding services
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet (winter only)
  • Restaurant
  • Health club

Property services

  • Ski storage
  • ATM
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Porter/bellhop
  • Concierge services
  • Cribs available (fees may apply)
  • Currency exchange
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Air-conditioned public areas
  • Luggage storage
  • Video library
  • Elevator/lift
  • Smoke-free property
  • Supervised childcare/activities (surcharge)
  • Children allowed
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms available
  • Doorman
  • Multilingual staff
  • On-site ski rentals
  • Pets allowed
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk
  • Security guard
  • Wake-up service
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Non-smoking rooms available

Shuttles and transportation

  • Airport transportation
  • Free area shuttle
  • On city bus route

Business services

  • Business center
  • Banquet facilities
  • Ballroom(s)
  • Conference center
  • Audiovisual services available
  • Fax services available
  • Mail and shipping services
  • Notary public


  • Free valet parking

In-Room Amenities


  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony
  • In-room safe
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Desk
  • In-room sprinkler system
  • In-room climate (air conditioning)
  • Rooms with fireplace available
  • Smoke alarms in rooms
  • Washer and dryer (select rooms)


  • Bathrobes
  • Lighted makeup/shaving mirror
  • Free toiletries
  • Hair dryer
  • Designer toiletries
  • Separate bath and shower

Media and electronics

  • Cable TV service
  • CD Player
  • Free WiFi
  • DVD player
  • Flat-panel TV
  • Data ports
  • Free wired high-speed Internet
  • Internet access (complimentary)
  • Multi-line telephone
  • Pay movies
  • Television
  • Voicemail
  • iPod docking station


  • Daily housekeeping
  • Free newspaper

Bedding and linens

  • Egyptian-cotton sheets
  • Rollaway/extra beds available

Food and drink

  • Full kitchens available
  • Minibar


Montage Deer Valley

993 Reviews #4 of 60 hotels in Park City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
  • Very Good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
  • GreenLeader Platinum level
  • 2019 Certificate of Excellence

Recent Reviews

671isabeld wrote a review on June 10, 2019 Charleston, South Carolina
Trip Type: Family

Nice place but not worth the extra cost during peak season

I stayed here with my family and another family over New Year’s. We are used to staying at nice hotels and understand paying more than most for luxury however the cost of this hotel over the holidays was crazy! Because of this, my expectations were very high. The hotel was definitely nice but if we were to do it again I do not think it was worth the cost. Here are some tips I have for the hotel: 1- They need a bigger place to get a quick cup of coffee and pastry in the morning. The Buzz coffee shop always had a long line and took forever. When you have kids and you need a quick bite before skiing this is not ideal. 2- The place where we got skis and bolts in the morning was filled with helpful people but many spoke poor English and weren’t great at helping with questions about the slopes. For first timers to the mountain we had hoped for more help there. This may be a good spot to have coffee and hot chocolate in the am too? I know they provided that in the afternoon but morning would have been nice too. 3- Ski school!! There was definitely not enough info given about ski school! From what I read and understood it was right outside the door. Little did we know you had to take a shuttle there and then once you got off the shuttle it was a small and confusing walk to the actual school. There is no way we could’ve let our kids go on their own which is the way the person I booked it with made it sound. We paid hoping for a ski in ski out which is the case unless you are doing ski school. Just something good to be prepared for. Also getting there was pretty unorganized. We really didn’t know where to go or what to do. The actual school was good though. 4- there was limited seating in the restaurants which is a big downer when you are starving from traveling and/or skiing all day. The GAME ROOM was awesome! Bowling is a great idea but the wait to get a lane was impossible. 5- needed a better store for snacks! The small store didn’t have a great selection. Also we had a child with a fever and there was absolutely no children’s medicine! I really couldn’t believe it! I ended up having to take my youngest child to the ER in Park city. The evening before the hotel could not provide children’s Motrin; then in the middle of the night he had severe trouble breathing and they had no oxygen available. Overall this hotel is very nice. I know I am being very picky. I just want to make sure everyone is completely aware of what they are paying for if they end up going during a peak time.
ScubaMinds wrote a review on May 22, 2019 Salt Lake City, Utah
Trip Type: Business
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Service

Rooms Were Good but Not for the Price

On a business stay for a conference, I stayed at the Montage and the St. Regis. I would say go with St. Regis. Their rooms are so much better. While these rooms at the Montage are nice, they do not match the quality of the St. Regis rooms. Also, the service of the staff was better at St. Regis as well.

MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We take all feedback very seriously so that we may always ensure we are providing our guests the best possible experience. We are pleased to learn you visited us in Park City and hope you will return to our gorgeous mountain destination, whether with our property or another wonderful and unique property closeby. Warm regards, Afsi Bird | Resort Manager Montage Deer Valley

BrynMawrBK wrote a review on March 27, 2019 Bryn Mawr, PA
Trip Type: Couples
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Simply Superb

Our stay at Montage Deer Vally was outstanding. Setting and interiors are gorgeous and the level of service is essentially unmatched. Every staff member encountered was genuinely enthusiastic, friendly and eager to please. The ski attendants in Compass Sports downstairs literally put our equipment on us at the beginning of the day and took it off us at the end -- we did not have to lift a finger. We are now totally spoiled and not sure how we can ever stay elsewhere! Champagne in the orange Aprés Ski yurt behind the hotel after the lifts closed was a hoot (astronomically priced, but it's an experience). The extensive breakfast buffet was very high quality; late afternoon cocktails in front of the fireplace in the enormous high-ceilinged lounge were tasty and served with a smile. Our suite was remarkably quiet and extremely comfortable. There was always a complimentary shuttle available within minutes to drive us into Park City for dinner, with only the slight annoyance of having to be dropped off on the street parallel to Main Street instead of in front of the restaurants themselves due to increased enforcement of local parking regulations. The only mild criticism: the hot tub could be hotter. Other than that, Montage verges on perfection and we will definitely return.

MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing Montage Deer Valley. We are delighted to learn you experienced great service, as providing exceptional service is our priority and we do genuinely care about our guests. We love to hear you had a good experience in Compass Sports as well as The Après Lounge and Apex and we have shared your kind compliments with those teams. We also thank you for sharing your shuttle and hot tub feedback and we will share both your compliments and suggested improvements. Thank you again for joining us and we hope to welcome you back to Montage Deer Valley for another ski vacation next year! Warm regards, Afsi Bird Resort Manager | Montage Deer Valley

BostonElk wrote a review on March 26, 2019 Boston
Trip Type: Business
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Luxury ski location

Five star hotel with outstanding skiing on site. Location great, food was excellent, service very attentive. The only negative is the white glove treatment requires a guest to ask for what they want/when they want - and its delivered at a premium vs. going to a hotel lobby shop to casually pick up a few bottles of water and snack. Great service for the rich and famous, but I don't mind getting my own water. The shuttle service into Park City was very convenient.

MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for choosing Montage Deer Valley and thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced excellent service, as providing wonderful service is our priority. We have shared your kind compliments with our staff. We hope to welcome you back to Montage Deer Valley in the near future. Warm regards, Afsi Bird Resort Manager | Montage Deer Valley

Annie92 wrote a review on March 23, 2019 NY
Trip Type: Family
  • Rooms
  • Location
  • Service

Far from luxury and serious decline since last visit

The only things going for this place are the extremely convenient ski in ski out location and the excellent ski concierge service. Otherwise I would have to say that we felt majorly ripped off and were very disappointed with our most recent stay. As a note, this is the third time we have stayed here and since our last visit two years ago, there has been a major decline in the service and facilities. As another reviewer said, "buyer beware." This hotel is nowhere near worth what we paid to stay there. While the property itself is beautiful in a beautiful setting, the rooms feel dated, show their wear and tear and are somewhat sparse. We were in a two bedroom suite. No outlets in the living room. Very loud. All night long you would hear doors slamming in the hallway. The room HVAC made loud noises overnight (and we had changed rooms and heard the same noise in other room). But even if you put all that aside, the service was so sorely lacking for a "luxury" hotel. While there were several nice people we encountered, most of the staff was extremely young and inexperienced and things were run very poorly. It felt like no one was in charge. Also extremely upsetting was that we had paid for the top category suite, they had put us in nothing remotely close and being a busy time we had to change rooms mid stay and then wait three days to get the rate adjusted. Which by the way would not have happened if we did not push them for three days (we will follow up with American Express who we booked through and to voice our concerns about this property being qualified as one of their "Fine Hotels and Resorts). This was very dishonest and from the moment we checked in and encountered these problems we asked the Room Director (who we had to push to see to correct our room assignment) to have the hotel manager contact us and then went by the front desk every day several times a day to see the manager and kept getting put off. As an aside, I would ask that management not respond to this review with the standard "we're sorry" response since you had plenty of opportunity to reach out to us while we were there and try to make good yet ignored us so we do not believe anyone is really sorry. A true luxury property that is managed well (and we have stayed at many of them, as well as been in the travel business) does not try to avoid their guests and problems. The hotel's "on demand" shuttle service was also disappointing. Long waits, overcrowding and again no one who seemed to be in charge or care. All we kept hearing was "this is a busy time." Well folks, spring break did not come on you by surprise. A hotel with a 45 day cancellation policy is not surprised by occupancy rates. We are paying a premium to stay with you during these busy times. You would think you could staff up accordingly. If considering this hotel, be aware that while the location is great for ski in/ski out, there is nothing else in the area and you need to drive or be driven to anything else (town, other restaurants, etc - a good 15 minute drive). And the hotel restaurants. Forget trying to get breakfast in a timely manner before heading out to ski. The waits for a table were very long. At times there would be tables but not enough staff and you could tell what staff there was, was terribly overworked. And while I get spring break - we have done many ski vacations with our kids as they have grown up - this place was crazy. Kids running all over the place. Food all over the floor in the restaurants (breakfast and dinner). This is not necessarily the hotel's fault, but this appears to be the type of crowd they are now attracting and sadly it is no longer a pleasant place to stay for a nice family vacation. What a disappointment to see such a decline at this hotel since our last visit two winters ago when we had such a better experience, including interactions with staff and management. Whatever changes in management they have made since then have not been for the better, and it is clear that they are trying to cut corners and not invest in the property and services to maintain it as a high end property. Until they get serious about updating accommodations and service, we can no longer consider this a "luxury" property worth the prices they charge and would have think about staying elsewhere in Deer Valley. Our saving grace was that from here we headed to the Four Seasons in Vail and were able to end our ski vacation in true luxury style (and at less cost!).

MontageDeerValley, Manager at Montage Deer Valley, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is candid feedback like yours that allows us to always strive to deliver excellent services and connect with our guests. I recall learning of your frustrations and discussing your stay with you when you were here with us. While we were not able to offer you an upgrade during this busy time as you had received in the past, I regret to learn the resolution we offered was not satisfactory to you. We always welcome additional feedback and recommendations on how we could have improved your stay. While we have already spoken at length, I would be happy to discuss your stay with you further if you wish to reach out to me directly at We appreciate your honest feedback and we hope you will provide us an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards, Afsi Bird Resort Manager | Montage Deer Valley



50% of total room and tax is due at the time of booking. Remainder of full payment due 90 days prior to arrival.


50% deposit is non-refundable. If cancelled within 90 days of arrival, total stay is non-refundable.